Steve Jobs’ speech “says” Think and Android

I always feel uneasy when someone who tries to sell me a product uses the “you should buy this product, because the others are worse” argument. For some time now, I started to feel that Apple’s discourse was changing to what I call “It’s not us, it’s them” argument. And I even made a post about it, a few months ago.

So, when I saw the transcript, by MacWorld, of the most recent Steve Jobs’ speech, I decided to see which words were most used, graphically. And this was what I got:

Created with Wordle

6 thoughts on “Steve Jobs’ speech “says” Think and Android

  1. Nuno says:

    Android OS may be open source (some says that it’s not entirely true, but anyway… let’s say it is 100%) but the hardware (phones) it’s closed source. So Steve has some valid points when he talks about Android’s fragmentation – the closed aspects of it apply to the handset OEM (pre-load) ecosystem).

    Like

  2. Nuno,
    I am writing a post about Android and openness. In that post I will explain why Android is open source.
    Jobs talks about “Android’s fragmentation” as a bad thing. Let’s compare it with GNU/Linux and PC’s with different hardware. You have several Linux distros and several different PC’s. And that’s good, because you have more options to choose what suits you best.
    Of course, the fact that most of PC’s have closed hardware is sometimes difficult for Linux developers, but this is not Linux fault, right?
    He calls it fragmentation, I call it more options to choose from.
    But, hey, what can one expect from a person who thinks in “Windows” when he hears the word “open”?

    Like

Leave a Reply

