Corduroy Mansions – Alexander McCall Smith

The books of Alexander McCall Smith were recommended to me by a Swedish professor, when I was in Uppsala. One night after dinner, we were discussing mystery and detectives’ books and I said that my favourites were from authors already death (Ellery Queen; Agatha Christie, Rex Stout and so on) which is not very nice since once you’ve read their books … well, you can not expect more to be published🙂

On my last day in Uppsala, he offered me the first volume of “The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency” series and I liked it so much that I am following the series. I bought other books from the same author and I found out a curious way of writing a book by publishing chapters in a newspaper, just like some of our Portuguese writers used to do.

Now, he is writing his first online novel to Telegraph. You can already read or hear the first chapter here.

Leave a Reply

