Journal of Virtual Worlds Research online

Sometime ago, someone said that I was “playing with Virtual Worlds” in that way that only portuguese people can say it, meaning it is not important or serious or scientific. I was really surprised, because the person in question was related to new technologies and I had the idea it was a person with knowledge in the area. I was wrong, of course. Even people with a certain knowledge in new technologies think like those ones that never used it. Once a teacher said to me “I am not going to put my students playing around in Second Life, I am not going to put them playing games!” meaning “Learning is a serious thing, games are not”.

Oh well, I have to deal with that.

The important thing that I wanted to share with you (either you think this is not important, or either you think it is) is the first volume and first issue of Journal of Virtual Worlds Research,

The Journal of Virtual Worlds Research is an online, open access academic journal that adheres to the highest standards of peer review and engages established and emerging scholars from anywhere in the world. The Journal of Virtual Worlds Research is a transdisciplinary journal that engages a wide spectrum of scholarship and welcomes contributions from the many disciplines and approaches that intersect virtual worlds research.

From the abstracts I’ve read I will start, as soon as I arrive home, with three articles, one about history of Virtual Worlds, another one, which made me very curious about it, since the author argues that Virtual Worlds existed before the introduction of the Internet, and the third one about a typology of Virtual Worlds.

Leave a Reply

